Film Fan Site - Actress
Name : Joan Fontaine
Birth : 22 October 1917
Died : 15 December 2013
Nationality: British
Joan Fontaine

Joan Fontaine was born in Japan to British parents but has lived most of her life in America and is the younger sister of Oliver De Haviland. In 1941 both sisters were nominated for Best Actress Oscars, which Joan won. Her first starring role was with Fred Astaire in Damsel In Distress (Joan Fontaine has one dance with Fred Astaire), but it was in the Alfred Hitchcock films Rebecca and Suspicion that she became a major star. Her best performance was in Alfred Hitchcock's moody adaptatin of Daphne de Maurier's novel Rebecca.
Witches (1966)
Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea (1961)
Island In The Sun (1957)
Beyond A Reasonable Doubt (1956)
Flight To Tangier (1953)
The Bigamist (1953)
Ivanhoe (1952)
September Affair (1950)
Letter From An Unknown Woman (1948)
Constant Nymph (1943)
Suspicion (1941)
Rebecca (1940)
Gunga Din (1939)
The Women (1939)
Damsel In Distress (1937)

Won - Best Actress - Suspicion (1941)
Nomination - Best Actress - Constant Nymph (1943)
Nomination - Best Actress - Rebecca (1940)
Joan FontaineJoan FontaineJoan FontaineJoan Fontaine